Qualifications

The State of Indiana has minimum requirements for becoming a licensed foster family; however, because we are a private agency providing intensive services to primarily “therapeutic” children, we have higher standards than required by Indiana law. Listed below are minimum standards that a home must meet in order to become a licensed therapeutic foster home with Adult & Child:

  • Parents must be at least 25 years of age
  • Parents must be able to financially support themselves without public assistance
  • Parents may be single, divorced, married/non-married couple, or partnered couple
  • All residents of the household, over the age of 14, must pass local, state, national criminal background checks and child abuse checks
  • Parents must have reliable and insured transportation, as well as, a valid driver’s license
  • Your home must have sufficient bedroom space

7 Steps to becoming a Foster Parent

  1. Call Foster Care Licensing at 317-882-5122 to request an informational/training packet.
  2. Register for Paperwork orientation/Pre-service Training. Make sure to make arrangements for childcare and time-off work (if applicable).
  3. Successfully complete Pre-service Training, Therapeutic Training, and First Aid / CPR certification. (Completion of Pre-service training is only one step in the process and does not assure Adult & Child will endorse a license through our foster care programs.)
  4. Successful Completion and agency review of background checks.
    The following Background Checks must be completed:

    • National & State wide Criminal (Adult & Juvenile) History
    • Local Law Enforcement Agencies (LEA)/County Sheriff Records
    • Sexual Offenders Registry
    • Child Protection Services History
  5. Provide verification of health for all residents of the household
  6. Provide positive references from at least 4 non-family individuals whom you have known for at least 3 years
  7. Foster Family Home Preparation Assessment Summary (aka Home study)